CCEE transportation graduate students receive prestigious fellowship awards

January 23, 2019

The University of New Mexico announced that seven graduate students, including five in the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering have been awarded prestigious Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships from the U.S. Department of Transportation. The awardees include Brittany Antonczak (Civil Engineering), Alexis Corning Padilla (Civil Engineering), Ryan Dow (Civil Engineering), Kristal Metro (Civil Engineering), and Stephen Montaño (Civil Engineering).

The total award amount is $42,500 (or an average of $6,071 per student). The fellowships will provide funding for the students to conduct research in transportation and attend the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Transportation Research Board in Washington, D.C.

These are the first UNM students ever to receive funding from this prestigious fellowship program. Their success is an indication of the increasingly important role that UNM and the CCEE department are playing in transportation research and in training transportation professionals to address the mobility challenges of the mid-21st century.

The mission of the Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program is to attract the nation’s brightest minds to the field of transportation and advance transportation workforce development. The UNM Department of CCCEE administered a local competition for the fellowship for the first time this year. The competition was open to students from most UNM departments. UNM is the premier research and training institution in New Mexico for urban and rural transportation. We are dedicated to creating sustainable transportation systems, supporting our communities, and training the next generation of transportation professionals.