Officers of Student Organizations

Our student organizations and officers are listed below.  Feel free to contact any of them if you are interested in attending an event or interested in joining.  These groups are a great way to:

  • learn about the professions
  • meet fellow students
  • become friends with future professionals in your field!

AGC (Associated General Contractors of America)

Co-President

Gabrielle Lucero

glucero2@unm.edu

Co-President

Jacqueline Benitez

benitez23@unm.edu

Secretary

Nirajan Joshi

joshinirajan1998@unm.edu

Treasurer

Joan Ramos

ramosj@unm.edu 

Faculty Advisors

Mr. Ken Cooper, Dr. Susan Bogus Halter

krcooper@unm.edu, sbogus@unm.edu  

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)

President

Michael Latzke

mlatzke@unm.edu

Vice President

Patience Raby havingpatience@unm.edu

Secretary

Taylor Busch taylorbusch3@unm.edu

Treasurer

Jacob Halstead jhalstead@unm.edu

Historian

Jordan Miller jmiller25@unm.edu

Canoe Captains

Patience Raby
Angel Pacilla

havingpatience@unm.edu
apadilla9@unm.edu

Faculty Advisors

Mr. Ken Cooper

 

AWWA/WEF (American Water Works Association/Water Environment Federation)

President

Carmen Velasco cavelasco@unm.edu
Vice President Aashish Khandelwal ashkhandelwal@unm.edu

Finance Chair

Jose Hernandez lilchiquis@unm.edu

Activities Chair

Isabel Meza

mameza@unm.edu

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Kerry Howe

howe@unm.edu  

Chi Epsilon (civil engineering honor society, membership by invitation)

President

Soamiya A. Chavez

somie182@unm.edu

Vice President

Alissa Perea

anperea@unm.edu

Secretary

Joaquin Martinez

jmartinez1012@unm.edu

Treasurer

Ernesto Perea

erperea@unm.edu

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Rafiqul Tarefder

tarefder@unm.edu  

EWB (Engineers Without Borders)

President

Lucas Lujan luclujan@unm.edu

Vice President

Tyler Mitchell tymitchell@unm.edu

Treasurer

Max Fajardo mbucci@unm.edu

Bolivia Project Lead

Neel Debgupta

nbedgupt@unm.edu

Outreach Coordinator

Sanjna Mahobia

smahobia@unm.edu

Historian/Canones Project Lead

Tybur Casuse

tcasuse@unm.edu

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Jose Cerrato

jcerrato@unm.edu

Website

http://ewb.unm.edu/  

 

EERI (Earthquake Engineering Research Institute)

President

 

 

Vice President

 

 

Vice President

 

 

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Fernando Moreu

fmoreu@unm.edu  

LoboBuilders

President

Mikaela Smith

msmith33@unm.edu

Vice President

Jakeline Lopez jlopezmendez@unm.edu

Treasurer

 

 

Faculty Advisor

Dr.Susan Bogus Halter sbogus@unm.edu

TLC (Transportation Leadership Council) – UNM Future Leaders in Pavement and Transportation (UNM-FLPT)

President

Zafrul Khan

zkhan@unm.edu   

Vice President

Mehedi Hasan

mehedihasan@unm.edu  

Secretary

Biswajit Kumar

bkuman@unm.edu  

Treasurer

Amanul Hasan

 amanulhasan@unm.edu

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Rafiqul Tarefder

tarefder@unm.edu 

ITE (Institute of Transportation Engineers)

President

Risa Gutierrez

rgutierrez19@unm.edu   

Vice President

Travis Moe

tmoe@unm.edu

Treasurer

 Lynette Torrez

torrezl@unm.edu

Secretary

 Natalie Gayoso

nmjgayoso@unm.edu

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Nick Ferenchak ferenchak@unm.edu